Interview: MSO's "Under Mountains of Ocean" February 2019 Concert

Feb 20, 2019

The Marquette Symphony Orchestra's next concert takes place Saturday, February 23, 2019 at 7:30pm. Tickets available at Kaufman Auditorium and NMU Ticketing Outlets.
Credit / Marquette Symphony Orchestra

Bluegrass music, a tuba soloist and a romantic symphony are all on the next program for the Marquette Symphony Orchestra.  Principal conductor Octavio Mas-Arocas returns for the MSO's fourth concert of the 2018-19 season.  

Tuba Soloist Evan Zegiel
Credit Beth Grant
Concertmaster Janis Peterson and Maestro Octavio Mas-Arocas
Credit Public Radio 90

The performance features youth concerto competition winner Evan Zegiel, performing Nelson T. Gast's "Under Mountains of Ocean" (a world-premiere tuba concerto).  The MSO will also colalborate with an Ann Arbor-based bluegrass quartet, Westbound Situation.  This event will also be a part of the Winter Roots Festival, a collaboration with the Hiawatha Music Co-op, the MSO, Peter White Public Library, the City of Marquette Arts and Culture Center, and the Beaumier Heritage Center.

To purchase tickets, you may order by phone at 906-227-1032, online at or at any NMU ticket outlet.  For more information visit

Westbound Situation