New president selected for MTU

Apr 13, 2018

HOUGHTON, MI--   Michigan Technological University has a new president.

Richard J. Koubek

The university Board of Trustees selected Richard Koubek from a pool of four semi-finalists brought forward by a 14-member Presidential Search Committee.

Koubek has served the past eight years as dean of the College of Engineering and the Bert S. Turner Chair in Engineering at Louisiana State University. He also served as head of Pennsylvania State University’s Harold and Inge Marcus Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering. Previously, Koubek was chair for the Department of Biomedical, Industrial and Human Factors Engineering at Wright State University, as well as associate dean for research and graduate studies in Wright State’s College of Engineering and Computer Science. 

Koubek will be Tech’s 10th president. He succeeds Glenn Mroz, who will be returning to the faculty after 14 years in the top spot.